Home - Academic - Double Master - Electives - Content

CESL Offers New Study Opportunities in Europe

In addition to China, CESL students can chose to study in Germany, France, Spain, Poland, Sweden, Belgium, Austria, or the Netherlands!

The China-EU School of Law (CESL) at the China University of Political Science and Law (CUPL) is made up of a consortium of 16 partner institutions, 3 in China and 13 in Europe. One of the distinguishing features of CESL is that it is able to draw top professors from each of these notable law faculties to teach in its Master of European and International Law (MEIL) LL.M.

Students in this programme have classes at CUPL in Beijing with over 20 European law professors that fly over to teach intense module courses in their areas of expertise. They are called the CESL “Flying Faculty”. In addition, CESL has professors based in Beijing that teach throughout the term to ensure continuity and consistency between modules. In addition to this, most students visit one of the consortium universities to study in Europe for varying lengths of time during their Spring semester.

This year, for the first time, CESL has made new student exchange agreements with three of its partner universities which allow CESL students to spend their entire Spring semester studying in Europe! There are 15 places at KU Leuven, 15 at Jagiellonian University, and 6 at the Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU), for a total of 36 new full-term study spots this year. Students from these European universities are also given the opportunity to study tuition-free in CESL’s leading Chinese Law Taught in English (CLTE) programme each Autumn.

These new exchanges complement the continued array of study opportunities at various other European universities, such as the Autonomous University of Madrid, the University of Strasbourg, the University of Hamburg, Lund University, and Maastricht University. In total there are 110 study places across 8 different European countries to choose from!