Home - Content

European Delegation Visits CESL

Mr. Gunnar Wiegand, Director of theEuropean External Action Service (EEAS) for Russia, Eastern Partnership, Central Asia, Regional Cooperation and OSCE, visited the China-EU School of Law on 25 October. He was accompanied by Mr. Philipp Oliver Gross, Head of the Political Section of the EU Delegation to China, Mr. Michal Skrzek, Counsellor for Political Affairs at the EU Delegation to China, Ms. Abigael Vasselier, Policy Officer for China at the EEAS, and Ms. Sakura Moretto, Team Leader of the Cooperation Section of the EU Delegation.


On behalf of CUPL, Vice-Chancellor Shi Jianzhong welcomed the delegation and thanked the Chinese and EU governments for their continued support and assistance since the establishment of the China-EU Law School in 2008. He said that over the past 11 years, through close cooperation between all parties, the quality of students, the employment prospects of graduates, and the reputation of the School has significantly improved. The China-EU School of Law has played a unique role in Sino-EU legal education. He hoped to continue to receive the support of the two governments and continue to build the Law School into one of the world's central European legal education centres.

Mr. Wiegand thanked the Law School for its warm reception and said she was delighted to be here. He had an in-depth exchange with the delegates on the various aspects of the Law School’s programmes and expressed his satisfaction at its growing influence. He hopes that the two sides will cherish the good reputation accumulated over the years and continue to strive to make the Law School a bright spot for China-EU cooperation. In addition, the two sides also held friendly talks on the Law School’s near-term planning and future development.


Professors Liu Fei, Chinese Co-Dean of the China-EU Law School, Bengt Lundell, European Co-Dean of the China-EU School of Law, and Ronald Montague Silley, European Executive Co-Dean of the China-EU School of Law, also participated in the discussions. Mr. Lyu Yong, Vice-Director of the Office of International Cooperation and Exchange, and CESL Professor Zhu Weiyi, also took part in the meeting.

Source: Office of International Cooperation and Exchange